A not so challenging challenge.

For the past 9 days I’ve been doing a “Burpee Challenge”.
For those of you unfamiliar with the term burpee it’s basically an old school squat thrust and my challenge is to work up to 100 burpees in one day.
Now, I’m a fitness instructor this challenge really isn’t much of a challenge for me; I probably do 100 burpees in one of my boot camp classes HOWEVER they’re usually spaced out over a 30 minute period not the 5 minutes I’ve allotted myself.
But it’s still not that physically challenging to me.
The real challenge is sticking to this and remembering to do the amount of burpees I’m supposed to do each day, see I have a follow-through problem.
I’m not lazy or unambitious I just have awful ADHD and all the symptoms that go with it.
This challenge is about follow-through, it’s about focus and I’ve been doing OK so far.
I have to employ techniques others might not have to use when completing tasks like setting an alarm each day reminding me to do the burpees and making sure to set it so I’d be in an area where I could perform the challenge because if I didn’t do it right there and then I’d forget about them.
I’ve been annoying people on social media about the challenge hoping that someone would say “Hey, did you do your burpees today?” so far no takers but that’s cool it just means that I’ve done this on my own and I pretty proud of it.
I’m not looking for accolades, in fact they usually make me feel terribly uncomfortable. I’m doing this to prove to myself that I have the power to complete tasks I just need to figure out ways to stay ON task.
Oh and FYI I’ve also set and alarm reminding me to blog every day.

Leave a Reply

